top of page

Higher Education System In India

For the purpose of; Empowering educational institutions looking to form academic strategic partnerships in India. |


Total number of Universities - 778 Number of Central Universities - 45 Number of State Universities - 329 Number of Private Universities - 282 Deemed to be Universities - 122 Institutions of National Importance - 91 Number of Colleges - 39,071


Bachelors/Undergraduate: 3-4 years Masters/Postgraduate: 2 years Doctoral: 2 to 5 years (varies)


Central University: A university established or incorporated by a Central Government Act.

State University: A university established or incorporated by a State Legislature Act.

Private Universities: A university established through a State/Central Act by a sponsoring body viz. A Society registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860, or any other corresponding law for the time being in force in a State or a Public Trust or a Company registered under Section 25 of the Companies Act, 1956.

Deemed to be University: An Institution of Higher Education, other than universities, working at a very high standard in specific area of study, can be declared by the Central Government on the advice of the UGC as an Institution ‘Deemed-to-be-university’. Institutions that are ‘deemed-to-be-university’ enjoy academic status and privileges of a university.

Institution of National Importance: An Institution established by Act of Parliament and declared as Institution of National Importance.


Higher Education Enrollment (All India Survey on Higher Education Report 2015-16):

Total enrollment in HE: 34.6 million Gross Enrollment Ratio (GER) in HE in India: 24.5% (calculated for 18-23 years of age group) Subject wise Enrollment Ratio at Undergrad level:

Arts/Humanities/Social Science: 40% Engineering & Tech: 15.6% Commerce: 14.1% Pupil Teacher Ratio in Universities & Colleges: 21


Regulatory Bodies for HE in India:

Umbrella Body: Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource & Development, Govt. of India (MHRD)

Purpose: Engaged in bringing world class opportunities of higher education and research to the country so that Indian students are not finding lacking when facing an international platform.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) was created on September 26, 1985, through the 174th amendment to the Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961. Currently, the MHRD works through two departments:

Department of Higher Education: takes care of what is one of the largest Higher Education systems of the world, just after the United States and China. Governing Body for Universities: University Grants Commission (UGC) Purpose: Apex Body responsible for governance of higher education institutions. The University Grants Commission is a statutory organization established by an Act of Parliament in 1956 for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education. Apart from providing grants to eligible universities and colleges, the Commission also advises the Central and State Governments on the measures which are necessary for the development of Higher Education. It functions from New Delhi as well as its six Regional offices located in Bangalore, Bhopal, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Pune.

Statutory Councils: Purpose: Statutory Councils are responsible for approval of respective programs.

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) Distance Education Council (DEC) Indian Council for Agriculture Research (lCAR) Bar Council of India(BCI) National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI) Medical Council of India (MCI) Pharmacy Council of India (PCI) Indian Nursing Council (INC) Dentist Council of India (DCI) Central Council of Homeopathy (CCH) Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)

Accreditation Body: National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) Purpose: Responsible for evaluating the quality of higher education in India National Assessment and Accreditation Council, an autonomous body, has been established by the University Grants Commission in 1994. The prime mandate of NAAC, as envisaged in its Memorandum of Association (MoA), is to assess and accredit institutions of higher learning, universities and colleges or one or more of their units, i.e., departments, schools, institutions, programmes, etc.


International HE Partnerships by type (FICCI HE Summit 2014 Report)

Joint Campus: 5 Twinning: 49 Programmatic collaboration: 60 Twinning or programmatic collaborations: 77

635 views0 comments


bottom of page